The Definition of Government


The word government is used to describe a particular system that people use to control and make decisions for a nation, state or other political unit. Governments have many responsibilities, including creating and enforcing rules for society, maintaining public order, protecting citizens and ensuring national security. In addition, governments must also provide economic security and social services.

In the United States, the government is made up of three branches: legislative, executive and judicial. The framers of the Constitution designed this system to prevent a single individual from having too much power and ensure that laws are made fairly. Separating powers also makes it harder for a faction, or group of like-minded individuals, to take over the government.

A government can be any organization that controls a state, country or other organized community. It can also refer to a particular group of people that manages that government: a cabinet, a parliament or a legislature.

The term government comes from the Latin locution gubernare, which means to steer a ship or vessel. The governing body of a state is oftentimes called a gubernate, which is an active agency invested with executive authority and responsible for the direction and supervision of public affairs. There are many different forms of government, and they include direct democracy, representative democracy, monarchy, oligarchy, autocracy, communism and socialism.

Direct democracy is a form of government where citizens choose the government. Representative democracy is a form of government where voters elect representatives who then vote on their behalf. Oligarchy is a form of government where the majority of power is held by a small elite group. An autocracy is a form of government where one person has almost total control over society.

At the Constitutional Convention, the framers debated many issues, including what form of government the United States would have. They decided to separate the governmental powers into three branches: legislative, executive and judicial. These three parts of the federal government are designed to prevent a single individual from having too great an influence over policy making and that the rights of the people are protected. The Constitution also stipulates that all Americans, regardless of their political party, have a right to vote for senators and representatives. This constitutional right cannot be denied or abridged by Congress. It is also important to note that the Constitution stipulates that Congress must meet every year. This article also stipulates that the terms of members of the Senate and House of Representatives will expire at noon on the 20th day of January, unless extended by law. This date is known as the “Two-Year Rule” and was included in the Constitution to prevent the tyranny of self-appointed dictators. The Two-Year Rule also gives the American people a chance to change their government before it becomes too corrupt. It is not unusual for the people to re-elect their representatives after only two years in office. This is a very popular way to run a democratic republic.